Belgium-EURO 2020 Team Profile

2021-06-10 21:00:00 1375

With a plum draw and a squad boasting some of the biggest names in world football, Belgium head to Euro 2020 dreaming of winning their first major trophy.

Coach: Roberto Martinez
Number of European Championship Appearances: 6
Best European Championship Performance: Runners-up in 1980
Number of European Championship Titles: 0
Qualifying Form: Won Group I with a record of 10-0-0
Major Trophies: 0
Most Capped (current) Player: Jan Vertonghen, 126
Key Player at Euro 2020: Kevin De Bruyne

Lead-up to the Tournament:

A third-placed finish at the 2018 World Cup was Belgium's best showing at a major tournament since they were runners-up in the 1980 European Championships.

They continued their good form into the Nations League, winning five of their six games to top a group including England and Denmark.

A 1-1 draw with the Czech Republic in World Cup qualifying was a minor setback but Belgium are still FIFA's number one ranked team in the world.

The Squad:

Belgium's golden generation are undoubtedly one of the most talented squads in the world but time is running out for them to deliver on their talent.

Key defenders Dedryck Boyata, Jan Vertonghen, Toby Alderweireld and Thomas Vermaelan are all over 30 now and boss Roberto Martinez is also sweating over the fitness of Kevin De Bruyne after he suffered facial fractures in the Champions League final.

De Bruyne is the Red Devils' creator-in-chief and has stepped up in place of Eden Hazard, who has struggled for form and fitness recently.

Leading the line will be Romelu Lukaku, who goes into the tournament on the back of a sensational season at Inter where his 24 goals fired the Nerazzurri to the Serie A title.

The fitness of De Bruyne, who is likely to miss the opener against Russia, will be the biggest concern for Belgium going into the competition as the Manchester City superstar is so integral to their chances.


12th June - Russia, Krestovsky Stadium, St Petersburg
17th June - Denmark, Parken Stadium, Copenhagen
21st June - Finland, Krestovsky Stadium, St Petersburg

Belgium's 26-man squad

Goalkeepers: Thibaut Courtois (Real Madrid), Simon Mignolet, (Club Brugge), Matz Sels, (Strasbourg)

Defenders: Jan Vertonghen (Benfica), Toby Alderweireld (Tottenham Hotspur), Thomas Vermaelen (Vissel Kobe), Thomas Meunier (Borussia Dortmund), Jason Denayer (Lyon), Dedryck Boyata (Hertha BSC), Leander Dendoncker (Wolverhampton Wanderers),
Timothy Castagne (Leicester City)

Midfielders: Axel Witsel (Borussia Dortmund), Kevin De Bruyne (Manchester City),
Nacer Chadli (İstanbul Basaksehir), Yannick Carrasco (Atlético Madrid), Youri Tielemans (Leicester City), Thorgan Hazard (Borussia Dortmund) Dennis Praet (Leicester City),
Hans Vanaken (Club Brugge)

Forwards: Eden Hazard (Real Madrid), Dries Mertens (Napoli), Romelu Lukaku (Inter), Christian Benteke (Crystal Palace), Michy Batshuayi (Crystal Palace), Jeremy Doku (Rennes), Leandro Trossard (Brighton).